Right. Today I made a decision. I’ve got to stop writing so many blogs about ME: me and my new year’s resolutions; me and Kilimanjaro; me, me, me, me, me. There are far more important things happening in the world right now in relation to children and motherhood. Just one of them is how it’s really important that as many people as possible complete the largest survey this century about the impact of fertility problems which is being conducted by Infertility Network UK in partnership with Middlesex University.

I just have. Question 29 really got me. It reads: to what extent have you experienced any of the following as a result of infertility?

Tearfulness

Low Confidence

Low Concentration

Depression

Isolation

Stress

Lack of Support

Frustration

Feeling out of control

Fears and Worries

Anger

Inadequacy

Guilt/Shame

Loss of Sex Drive

Sadness

Helplessness

Despair

Suicidal Feelings

On a scale of 1 to 5 I was shocked by how many I had to rate at the top.

Oh god. I’m talking about ME again. Please complete the survey and make this blog about YOU. It’s for anyone that’s about to start treatment, is in the process of going through it, or has been through treatment in the past. And if that’s not you, then pass it on because in my experience everyone knows someone who is or has. We need the world to know about the effects of infertility so we can better fight for equality of treatment; better highlight the need for counselling for those going through it; and better help the world understand how terrible it can be. It makes me sad to say it, but there’s still a very long way to go.

http://www.thepursuitofmotherhood.com

