So here we go: the last instalment in my series of blog posts about ‘Coping with Christmas’. In Part I, I brought you four margaritas and in Part II, I offered the wise words of two other women. For Part III I’d like to venture that one way of coping with Christmas is the cold. And in my case I’m not talking snow or even that common viral infection of the nose. I’m talking water, five degrees or below.

This Thursday, for the first time ever, I will be joining a bunch of fellow lunatics for the annual Christmas morning race in the Serpentine Lake in London’s Hyde Park. Established in 1864, we will be competing for the much-prized Peter Pan Cup. Perhaps these are not the actions of a sane adult, but then who wants to be sane especially if you’ve got a chance to be Peter Pan and never grow up.

So think of me on the 25th December at 9am GMT or if you’re in London why not come on down and watch? Then give yourself the gift of cold this Christmas – a bracing walk, an icy shower. There’s nothing better than the cold to make you feel alive. And whatever you’re feeling about Christmas this year, remember it’s always a blessing to be alive and here.

Happy Christmas!

www.thepursuitofmotherhood.com

