I love writing my blog.

Those are five words that I never thought I’d say in the same sentence. In fact, I never thought I’d see the words ‘my blog’ next to each other. But there you go. Conception miracles do happen to me, even if they only relate to my giving birth to words on the web.

One of the things I love most about my blog is receiving people’s comments. They are like little jewels when they pop into my inbox. Last week, I had some brilliant ones about my post on whether your mindset affects your fertility – many thanks to you all.

I have to say that so far by in large all the comments I’ve received online (be it blog, twitter or facebook) have been wonderful and wise. However, I am very nervous of trolls, acutely aware that things can change in a heartbeat. The problem with the internet is that its anonymity allows people to go uncensored and say the cruellest things which they would probably never dare utter in public or to someone’s face.

Here’s a good example. This week the city of York hit the headlines for being the only place in the UK that will not provide any IVF cycles for women on the NHS. The comments made under the article on York Press online were extraordinary. One of my favourites was: ‘IVF is an indulgence’. I’d post the link here to make your eyes pop out of your head except they seem to have removed them – yeah, they were that bad.

Ah well, if IVF is an indulgence, I guess I’m lucky enough to have over eaten. Why then, like so many women living with infertility, do I still feel empty?

www.thepursuitofmotherhood.com

